making bail in ohio court

Dayton Criminal Defense: Making Bail First things first, making bail or posting bail is often the first thing to be concerned about when facing criminal charges.  When you are arrested in Ohio, the police have the discretion to release you or to hold you in a local jail. If you are released, you are given…

Read More

First Court Date for a Criminal Charge in Ohio Your first court date for a criminal charge in Ohio is an important.  It is generally referred to as an initial appearance or an arraignment.  At your arraignment you are expected to enter an initial plea.  There are three basic pleas in the Ohio courts:  Not Guilty,…

Read More

Underage drinking or possession of alcohol  is a serious crime in Ohio. The charges are first-degree misdemeanors carrying a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine. Worse yet, a conviction may leave you with a “criminal record” which is much more serious than a fine or costs. Fear, shame or guilt may…

Read More

Ohio Drug Suspension – New Law in Effect Ohio Drug Suspension:  Effective September 13, 2016, Ohio judges are no longer required to suspend the drivers license of anyone convicted of a drug crime.  Under the old law the drug suspension was mandatory for six months to three years, even if the crime had nothing to do…

Read More

Charles Rowland at DaytonDUI.com Defending the accused drunk driver since 1995, Charles Rowland is simply the best when it really matters.  Lots of attorneys represent defendants charged with DUI.  Charles Rowland has the credentials that can make the difference in YOUR case.  Your freedom and your reputation are at stake when you are charged with drunk driving…

Read More

DRIVING UNDER SUSPENSION, WARRANT BLOCKS Another way to earn an Ohio license suspension is to have a Warrant Block. You can find this suspension at Ohio Revised Code Section 4503.13. What is unique about this suspension is that it is not really a suspension, but a block. A municipal court can send a report to…

Read More

Under Ohio law (Ohio Revised Code section 2903.13), the crime of Assault occurs when a person knowingly causes or attempts to  cause physical harm to another or to another’s unborn.  Assault also occurs where a person recklessly causes serious physical injury. Generally Assault is a first degree misdemeanor (punishable by up to six months jail…

Read More

Drinking Underage in Ohio: Underage possession or consumption of beer or intoxicants is a serious crime in Ohio. The charges are first-degree misdemeanors carrying a maximum penalty of 180 days in jail and up to a $1,000.00 fine. Worse yet, a conviction may leave you with a “criminal record” which is much more serious than…

Read More

If you have been accused of unlawful sexual conduct with a minor in the Dayton area, contact experienced criminal defense attorney Mark Babb to discuss your case.  You need someone to protect your rights now. Unlawful sexual conduct with a minor is where a person eighteen or older has sex with a person between the…

Read More

If you are accused of gross sexual imposition, you need to speak to an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. Gross sexual imposition (“GSI” for short) is a strangely named and confusing crime which includes many different types of conduct and different penalties. Gross Sexual imposition involves sexual contact (sexual activity short of actual penetration). Sexual…

Read More